Thursday, February 10, 2011

Spl Story on Thula Bharam at Srivari Padi Kavali

On the left corner of the Padi kavili  of the Srivari Temple one will see a large steel balance kept for weighing persons who want to fulfil their vow to Lord Venkateswara.

Nearly 100-200 persons fulfill their vow at this spot by donating commodities, metals or even coins  worth their weight to Lord Venkateswara. Legend says that Lord Venkateswara had become heavily indebted and had taken huge loans from \kubera, the lord of wealth and hence his devotees were contributing their mite to reduce his burden.

Devotees paid in all formats to theri beloved deity. To facilitate the devotees to fulfill their vow the TTD had set up the Tula Bharam at the entrance itself in association with the Indian Bank. Value of weight of coins was listed out and also the weight of commodities like rice, sugar, jaggery, sugar candy,  etc.

"Devotees could bring their own coin or grains which they can deposit in the Hundi. But we offer to deposit only if they take it from us. Our rates are as per the commodity and coin rates at which TTD had made the purchases" says Guna Sekhar Reddy, the officer in charge of the Tula Bharam.

Tula Bharam is available in two shifts of 12 hours and devotees can utilise the facility as per their convenience, says temple officials.

It is well known that devotees of Lord Venkateswara made strange vows for fulfillment of their wishes. Many walked long distances, some crawled and also rolled as well.

Tuesday, December 28, 2010

Tirumala Tirupati Devasthanam

Tirumala Tirupati Devasthanam is also known as TTD. It is a management committee in tirumala which controls the pilgrims of tirumala-tirupati area. TTD is not only controlling the tirupati-temples but also participate in various social, religious, literary and educational activities within Andhra Pradesh and India

Background of TTD trust
In 1933 AD, the Madras government passed a special act, and empowered the Tirumala Tirupati Devasthanams (TTD) committee to control all the activities of temple in tirumala-tirupati area, through a commissioner appointed by the madras government. Again in 1951, the act which was passed in 1933, replaced by enactment whereby the administration of TTD was entrusted to a Board of Trustees and an executive officer was appointed by the government.
The Executive Officer is the chief executive of TTD. He controls all activities of TTD. It includes arrangement and record of collection of income and payment of expenses, safety of pilgrims and other related work with tirupati temple. Now-a-days, TTD employs about 14000 people to maintain the 12 temples and their sub-shrine under its control along with the execution of its social activities.

Objectives of TTD
The main objective of the TTD is to provide convenient facilities to the devotees of lord Venkateswara. All facilities which we show in tirumala- tirupati, these facilities are mostly provided by TTD. Other objective of TTD is given below.
1) TTD works towards preserving the serenity and sanctity of the sacred Tirumala-Tirupati area.
2) It participated in various social, religious, literary and educational activities within Andhra Pradesh and India.
3) TTD also provides aid to authors and subsidised equipment to other temples.
4) Provision for water supply, sanitary arrangements, roads and communications, lighting and electricity were also included.
5) To provide training to priests.

Address/ contact office :Tirumala Tirupati Devasthanams,TTD Administrative Building,
K.T. Road, Tirupati 517 501,
Andhra Pradesh, India.
Phone No. : +91-0877-2230166 (Tirupati)
+91-0877-2277214 (Tirumala)
+91-0877-2228358 (Fax)
Email Address:

108 Names of Lord Venkateswara

We all known Lord Venkateswara is the main deity of Tirumal, Tirupati.
Lord Vekateswara is also known by other names.

1) Om Shri Ventakeshaya Namaha
2) OM Sreenivasaya Namaha
3) OM Laxmipataye Namaha
4) OM Anaamayaaya Namaha
5) OM Amruthamsaya Namaha
6) OM Jagadvandyaya Namaha
7) OM Govindaya Namaha
8) OM Shashvataya Namaha
9) OM Prabhave Namaha
10) OM Sheshadrinilayaya Namaha
11) OM Devaya Namaha
12) OM Keshavaya Namaha
13) OM Madhusudhanaya Namaha
14) OM Amrutaya Namaha
15) OM Madhavaya Namaha
16) OM Krishnaya Namaha
17) OM Sriharaye Namaha
18) OM Jnanapanjaraya Namaha
19) OM SreeVatsavakshase Namaha
20) OM Sarveshaya Namaha
21) OM Gopalaya Namaha
22) OM Purushotamaya Namaha
23) OM Gopeeshwaraya Namaha
24) OM Parasmyjyotishe Namaha
25) OM Vaikuntapataye Namaha
26) OM Avyayaya Namaha
27) OM Sudhaatanave Namaha
28) OM Yadavendraya Namaha
29) OM Nithyayavvanaroopavate Namaha
30) OM Chaturvedatmakaya Namaha
31) OM Vishnave Namaha
32) OM Achutyaya Namaha
33) OM Padminipriyaya Namaha
34) OM Dharapataye Namaha
35) OM Surapatye Namaha
36) OM Nirmalaya Namaha
37) OM Devapoojitaya Namaha
38) OM Chaturboojaya Namaha
39) OM Chakradaraya Namaha
40) OM Tridamne Namaha
41) OM Trigunashrayaya Namaha
42) OM Nirvikalpaya Namaha
43) OM Nishkalankaya Namaha
44) OM Niranthakaya Namaha
45) OM Niranjanaya Namaha
46) OM Nirabasaya Namaha
47) OM Nityatruptaya Namaha
48) OM Nirgunaya Namaha
49) OM Nirupadravaya Namaha
50) OM Gadhaadharaya Namaha
51) OM Shaarangapanaye Namaha
52) OM Nandakine Namaha
53) OM Shankhadarakaya Namaha
54) OM Anakemurtaye Namaha
55) OM Avyaktaya Namaha
56) OM Katihastaya Namaha
57) OM Varapradaya Namaha
58) OM Anekatmane Namaha
59) OM Deenabandhave Namaha
60) OM Aartalokabhayapradhaya
61) OM Akasharajavaradhaya Namaha
62) OM Yogihrutpadmamandhiraya Namaha
63) OM Dhamodharaya Namaha
64) OM Karunakaraya Namaha
65) OM Jagatpalayapapagnaya Namaha
66) OM Bhakthavatsalaya Namaha
67) OM Trivikramaya Namaha
68) OM Shishumaraya Namaha
69) OM Jatamakutashobhitaya Namaha
70) OM Shankamadyolasanmanjookinkinyadyakarakandakaya Namaha
71) OM Neelameghashyamatanave Namaha
72) OM Bilvapatrarchanapriyaya Namaha
73) OM Jagatvyapine Namaha
74) OM Jagatkartre Namaha
75) OM Jagatsakshine Namaha
76) OM Jagatpataya Namaha
77) OM Chintitarthapradaya Namaha
78) OM Jishnave Namaha
79) OM Daasharhaaya Namaha
80) OM Dhasharoopavate Namaha
81) OM Devakinandanaya Namaha
82) OM Shauraye Namaha
83) OM Hayagreevaya Namaha
84) OM Janardhanaya Namaha
85) OM Kanyashravanatharejyaya Namaha
86) OM Peetambharadharaya Namaha
87) OM Anagaya Namaha
88) OM Vanamaline Namaha
89) OM Padmanabhaya Namaha
90) OM Mrughayasaktamanasaya Namaha
91) OM Ashvaroodaya Namaha
92) OM Kadghadharine Namaha
93) OM Dhanarjanasamootsukaya Namaha
94) OM Ganasaralasanmadhyakasturitilakojjwalaya Namaha
95) OM Sachitandharoopaya Namaha
96) OM Jaganmangaladayakaya Namaha
97) OM Yajnaroopaya Namaha
98) OM Yajnabokthre Namaha
99) OM Chinmayaya Namaha
100) OM Parameshwaraya Namaha
101) OM Paramarthapradhaya Namaha
102) OM Shanthaya Namaha
103) OM Sreemathe Namaha
104) OM Dordhandhavikramaya Namaha
105) OM Paratparaya Namaha
106) OM Parasmaibrahmane Namaha
107) OM Sreevibhave Namaha
108) OM Jagadeeshwaraya Namaha

For customised Tour Packages | Tours | Travels | Bookings |
Please visit

Monday, December 20, 2010

Ninth Day Brahmotsavam Celebrations is Pallaki Seva and Chakrasnana Mahotsavam

On the last day, Pallaki Seva and Chakrasnana Mahotsavam in the morning and Dhwajavarohanam are performed in the evening.
The processional images are anointed with oil, turmeric powder and other auspicious ingredients and Abhishekam is performed. Sudarsan Chakram is given a bath in the Swami Pushkarini. The Garuda flag is then lowered.

For customised Tour Packages | Tours | Travels | Bookings |

Please visit